posted in: Protected Species | 0

Newts in the UK


There are three species of newts in the UK; Common, Palmate and Great Crested Newts. They are all protected under the wildlife and countryside act, and Great Crested Newts are protected further still. There is a wealth of information online from sources such ( and Froglife ( Some activities may affect newts and, due to their protected status, measures need to be taken to reduce the possible risks of disturbance. Examples of work which could affect newts are;

  • site clearance
  • drainage work
  • construction work


If you are planning to carry out any of these activities you could be required to survey your area to find out if newts are using your site. For more information check out our video on newts.